Search Help

Simply type a keyword or short sentence relating to your query into the box below, and our help system will return the most relevant articles.

Search

Complete reinstallation of our Windows software

To solve this issue please completely uninstall our software.

I/ Back Up User Files

You should not lose any of your settings if you re-install to the same directory. However, we recommend that you make a copy of user.ini (your preferences) and notes.user.xml (where user is your Stars ID) from the settings folder whenever you uninstall the software. To do this:

  1. Open our software (if possible)
  2. Click on Help (click More first if not visible)
  3. Click on Open My Settings Folder
  4. Locate those two files and copy them to a safe temporary location

If you cannot open the software you will need to manually navigate to the settings folder to locate those files:

Windows XP

  1. Double click My Computer on your desktop or start menu
  2. Double click C: drive to view your hard drive
  3. Double click on Program Files
  4. Scroll down and double click on our softwares folder
  5. Locate user.ini or user and notes.user.xml
  6. Copy the files to a safe temporary location (the desktop is a good choice)

Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 and Windows 10

  1. Press the Windows Key + R (at the same time)
  2. Type the following or copy/paste into the Area provided and press Enter:

    %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local

  3. Locate and open our softwares folder
  4. Locate user.ini or user and notes.user.xml
  5. Copy the files to a safe temporary location (the desktop is a good choice)

II/ Uninstall the Software

Once you have made a copy of those files, uninstall our software from your computer:

Windows XP

  1. Control Panel
  2. Add and Remove Programs
  3. Remove all of our softwares items

Windows Vista and Windows 7

  1. Control Panel
  2. Programs
  3. Uninstall a Program
  4. Uninstall all our software items

Windows 8

  1. Settings
  2. Control Panel
  3. Programs and Features
  4. Uninstall all our software items

Windows 10

  1. Start
  2. Settings
  3. System
  4. Apps & Features
  5. Use the search bar to find our software or scroll down the list
  6. Select our software and click on the Uninstall button.

III/ Delete Program Files

After the uninstall has finished please delete all program files from the install directory (default folder is located in C:\Program Files).

You will also need to delete the settings files. To locate these files, follow the instructions from the beginning of the email to open the settings folder. Once you have located the folder delete all files contained in the folder.

IV/ User and Software Permissions

On completion of deleting all files make sure that you have logged into Windows using an account that has Administrator rights.

Windows Vista, 7, 8 and 10 (Skip for XP)

Ensure that UAC is enabled as having this disabled may cause the software to not run. To do this:

  1. Press the Start button
  2. Type UAC
  3. Click on Change User Account Control Setting
  4. Please ensure that the slider bar is on Default which is the second option from the top.
  5. Once this is done click OK and restart your computer.

V/ Download Application

Please download and install the application from our website.

Windows Vista, 7, 8 and 10 (Skip for XP)

Please install into the default directory of C:\Program Files\...\ and then try running the program again. If you wish to silence the UAC without turning it off, there are third party programs that can help you with this. You can find these tools through a Google search of UAC silent mode

Windows XP

If you are using XP Home Edition, please try installing the software into the Shared Documents folder. With XP Professional, you may either use the Shared Documents solution, or you may directly change the file permissions. To make these changes you must be logged into XP with an account that has Administrator privileges. To make the necessary changes please visit Microsofts website for further instructions

VI/ Restore Files

Be sure to restore the two saved files once reinstalled. To do this:

  1. Go to the Help menu
  2. Select Open My Settings Folder
  3. Click Open My Settings Folder button
  4. Close our software and copy the files back into the folder

If you are asked to overwrite any files accept.

Should the problem persist a firewall may be interfering with the connection of our software. In this case, please email us and tell us the name and version of any security software you are running e.g. personal firewalls, web filters or virus scanners (e.g. Kaspersky, Trend Micro, Norton Internet Security, etc).

Feedback

Was this article helpfull?

Related Help Articles